Quick Links

Useful Links

Tennyson Primary School

Progression Document (Foundation Subjects)

Progression Document (Foundation)

The TLC Progression Document

Together in Strength and Partnership - You, your school, your world – make the most of it!

The TLC academies currently comply with the compulsory national curriculum subjects for primary schools at key stages 1 and 2:

  • english
  • maths
  • science
  • design and technology
  • history
  • geography
  • art and design
  • music
  • physical education (PE), including swimming
  • computing
  • ancient and modern foreign languages (at key stage 2)

The purpose of this document is to outline the key assessment criteria for each year, in each subject. This is to help teachers in the TLC Academy Trust to plan and assess. This document identifies ‘key assessment criteria’ highlighted from the national curriculum programmes of study for the expected standard (EXS).

The key assessment criteria should be used as a guide to help teachers plan and assess. The children must cover all of the criteria during the academic year that they are in, through planned lessons and activities. Children will be assessed at the expected standard at the end of the year if they meet all of the set criteria.

Teachers should use the criteria holistically and teacher assess against the standards. There is no requirement to use this document as a tick sheet and formative ongoing assessments should be made through teacher assessment during lessons, book looks, moderation and a review of everything the child has done at the end of a unit of work. For example: photos of educational visits out, models/artefacts made, homework tasks, questionnaires, tests etc.

The TLC Progression Document